On Now
Coming Up
  • Tue., Feb. 23, 2016 7:59 AM - 11:00 PM PST NFL Scouting Combine This February, over three hundred of the very best college football players will be invited to participate in the NFL Scouting Combine (National Invitational Camp) in Indianapolis, Indiana. Top Executives, Coaching Staffs, Player Personnel Departments and Medical Personnel from all 32 NFL teams will be on hand to evaluate the nation’s top college football players eligible for the upcoming NFL Draft. This intense, four-day job interview is an exciting time for the athletes and a vital step in achieving their dreams of playing in the NFL.


Asomugha Receives Jefferson Award

Posted Jun 25, 2010

Public figures, companies, athletes, students and community volunteers were honored with “Nobel Prize for Public Service” at a gala in Washington, D.C.

Raiders CB Nnamdi Asomugha accepts the Jefferson Award at a gala at the National Building Museum in Washington, D.C. Photo courtesy of The Jefferson Awards.

Oakland Raiders Pro Bowl CB Nnamdi Asomugha was among the 15 recipients of the 2010 Jefferson Awards, presented by co-founder Sam Beard and hosted by Fox News Sunday anchor Chris Wallace.

This year's ceremony took place June 22 at the National Building Museum in Washington, D.C.

Raiders CB Nnamdi Asomugha makes his acceptance speech at the Jefferson Awards ceremony at the National Building Museum in Washington, D.C.
Photo courtesy of The Jefferson Awards
Celebrating the decidedly American characteristic for giving back, the 38th annual Jefferson Awards were bestowed upon 15 recipients whose lives, careers and volunteer activities embody the finest examples of public service.

Known as the “Nobel Prize for Public Service,” the awards are presented each year during a special gala ceremony in Washington, D.C. where a broad array of honorees are recognized – from high-profile individuals who have dedicated the better part of their lives to public service to celebrated professional athletes to largely unheralded community-based volunteers. Also recognized are organizations – companies that represent the pinnacle in corporate citizenship and schools that best reflect the Jeffersonian ideals of citizen involvement.

Co-founded in 1973 by Jacqueline Kennedy Onassis, U.S. Senator Robert Taft Jr. and Sam Beard, The Jefferson Awards annually celebrate America’s commitment to public service. Recognizing both the famous and the unknown, individuals and organizations, the awards reflect one of the founding ideals of our nation, that of contributing toward the larger good. Past recipients of the award include Lance Armstrong, Hubert Humphrey, Dr. C. Everett Koop, General Colin Powell and Justice Sandra Day O’Connor.