Rodney Hudson earns Commitment to Excellence Award for unprecedented fourth-straight year


For a record fourth consecutive year, center Rodney Hudson was voted by his Raiders teammates to receive the Commitment to Excellence Award. The Commitment to Excellence Award is presented annually to the Raider who best exemplifies hard work, leadership, and excellence on and off the field throughout the season. The honor originated in 1967 as the Gorman Award and was re-named the Commitment to Excellence Award in 2002.

In 2019, Hudson became the first Raider to win the award in three consecutive years. Pro Football Hall of Famer Tim Brown was named the Commitment to Excellence Award winner six times overall while another Pro Football Hall of Famer, Marcus Allen, won the honor five times during his Raiders career. Ken Stabler, who is also in the Pro Football Hall of Fame, was a three-time recipient.

Here is a complete list of previous Commitment to Excellence Award winners:

Table inside Article
1967Daryle Lamonica
1968Jim Otto
1969Willie Brown
1970George Blanda
1971Jim Otto
1972Marv Hubbard
1973Ken Stabler
1974Ken Stabler
1975Pete Banaszak
1976Ken Stabler
1977Mark van Eeghen
1978Dave Casper
1979Raymond Chester
1980Ted Hendricks
1981Rod Martin
1983Rod Martin
1984Marcus Allen
1985Marcus Allen
1986Bill Pickel
1987Marcus Allen
1988Marcus Allen
1989Greg Townsend
1990Greg Townsend
1991Ronnie Lott
1992Marcus Allen & Terry McDaniel
1993Tim Brown
1994Terry McDaniel
1995Tim Brown
1996Jeff Hostetler & Terry McDaniel
1997Tim Brown, Jeff George & Russell Maryland
1998Greg Biekert
1999Tim Brown
2000Rich Gannon
2001Tim Brown & Steve Wisniewski
2002Tim Brown
2003Jerry Rice
2004Ronald Curry & Barry Sims
2005Derrick Burgess
2006Nnamdi Asomugha
2007Justin Fargas
2008Nnamdi Asomugha & Justin Fargas
2009Justin Fargas & Zach Miller
2010Rock Cartwright
2011Rock Cartwright
2012Jon Condo
2013Marcel Reece
2014Charles Woodson
2015Charles Woodson
2016Derek Carr
2017Rodney Hudson
2018Rodney Hudson
2019Rodney Hudson
2020Rodney Hudson