Skip to main content Website Header

Tom Flores once again named a finalist for the Pro Football Hall of Fame

You can't tell the story of professional football without Tom Flores.

Yet despite having a trailblazing six-decade career as a Pro Bowl quarterback, Super Bowl winning coach, front-office executive and accomplished analyst — not to mention his four Super Bowl rings — Flores still remains on the outside looking in to the hallowed halls of Canton.

The Pro Football Hall of Fame took a step toward righting that wrong on Tuesday with the announcement that Flores was once again a finalist as a coach nominee for the Class of 2021.

More from the Pro Football Hall of Fame on the selection process:

To be elected to the Hall of Fame, Flores must receive the same 80 percent voting support by the entire 48-member Selection Committee on "Selection Saturday." The Hall's Selection Committee, at its annual meeting to be held on Saturday, Feb. 6, 2021 in Tampa, Fla., will consider 18 finalists, including a Senior (Drew Pearson, also named Tuesday), a Coach (Flores) and a Contributor (to be named Tuesday, Aug. 25), and 15 Modern-Era Finalists (to be determined from a preliminary list announced on September 16; trimmed to 25 semifinalists in November and to 15 finalists in January).

Current bylaws call for a class no smaller than four or larger than eight. Flores will be voted on for election independent of the other finalists.

Tom Flores began his career as the first quarterback to don the Silver and Black. He went on to coach two Super Bowl winning seasons for the Raiders in 1981 and 1984.

We'll know a little more about Flores' chances as the panel begins to meet. Until then, may we reintroduce them to some of Flores' career highlights?

Career Highlights
1960: Makes first career starts as first quarterback in Raiders history
1963: Records first 400-yard passing performance in Raiders history
1966: Named to Pro Bowl
1969: Member of Kansas City Chiefs Super Bowl IV winning team
1972: Joins Raiders coaching staff
1976: Flores is member of Raiders Super Bowl XI-winning coaching staff
1979: Promoted to head coach of the Raiders
1980: Becomes first Latino head coach to win Super Bowl, Raiders first Wild Card team to win SB
1983: Leads Raiders to second Super Bowl title in four years
1985: Running back Marcus Allen wins NFL MVP
1987: Retires from coaching after 1987 season
1989: Joins Seattle Seahawks as team president/general manager, first Latino NFL team president
1992: Returns to coaching as head coach of Seahawks
1994: Retires from coaching a second time
1997 - 2017: Member of Raiders radio broadcast
2011: Roberto Clemente Award for Sports Excellence from National Council of La Raza
2012: Inducted into the Bay Area Sports Hall of Fame
2017: National Trailblazer Award - League of United Latin American Citizens

Latest Content