The Team of the Decades

The Team of the Decades

The Raiders began playing in 1960 as part of the American Football League (AFL). After a sluggish start to the franchise, and the emergence of Al Davis in 1963, the Raiders became the most dominant team during the 10 years of AFL existence. The NFL and AFL officially merged in 1970 allowing the Raiders to expand the horizons of competition and dominance. The Raiders have a .500 or better record against 22 of 31 teams in the National Football League.

The following table reflects the Raiders regular season records against all of the other 31 NFL franchises. The Raiders faced the expansion Houston Texans for the first time in 2004.

Table inside Article
Arizona Cardinals1973650.545
Atlanta Falcons1971780.467
Baltimore Ravens1996480.333
Buffalo Bills196021190.525
Carolina Panthers1997430.571
Chicago Bears1972880.500
Cincinnati Bengals196819120.613
Cleveland Browns197015100.600
Dallas Cowboys1974760.538
Denver Broncos196070532.568
Detroit Lions1970760.538
Green Bay Packers1972580.385
Houston Texans2004570.417
Indianapolis Colts19711090.526
Jacksonville Jaguars1966460.400
Kansas City Chiefs196053702.432
Los Angeles Chargers196067572.540
Los Angeles Rams1972870.533
Miami Dolphins196618181.500
Minnesota Vikings1973960.600
New England Patriots196015181.456
New Orleans Saints1971771.500
New York Giants1973860.571
New York Jets196024182.568
Philadelphia Eagles1971670.462
Pittsburgh Steelers197014110.560
San Francisco 49ers1970780.467
Seattle Seahawks197729250.537
Tampa Bay Buccaneers1976730.700
Tennessee Titans196026220.542
Washington Football Team1970770.500


  • The above records reflect cumulative won-loss totals against that particular franchise.
  • The Arizona Cardinals were known as the St. Louis Cardinals and retained franchise history.
  • The Tennessee Titans were known as the Houston Oilers and retained franchise history.
  • The New York Jets were the New York Titans and retained franchise history.
  • Although part of league expansion, the Cleveland Browns retained the original Browns franchise history.
  • The Baltimore Ravens are regarded as an expansion team in terms of franchise history.
  • The Los Angeles Rams were known as the St. Louis Rams from 1995-2015, and moved back to Los Angeles in 2016.
  • The Los Angeles Chargers were known as the San Diego Chargers from 1961-2016.