Charles Woodson Named First Team FWAA 75th Anniversary All-American

Oakland Raiders safety Charles Woodson, and several former Raiders have been named named to the Football Writers Association of America's 75th Anniversary All-America Team. Woodson, who won the Heisman trophy as a primarily defensive player at Michigan, became the first player in NFL history to record 50 career interceptions and 20 career sacks last season. Woodson, Denver Broncos quarterback Peyton Manning and Indianapolis Colts quarterback Matt Hasselbeck are the last three remaining active players from the 1998 NFL Draft class. Woodson is entering his 18th season in the league, his 11th with the Raiders (3rd since returning to the team after a stint with Green Bay).

From the official press release:

The Football Writers Association of America proudly announces its 75th Anniversary All-America Team, celebrating the association's All-America teams from near the end of World War II through the 2014 season. The FWAA, which was founded in 1941, has picked an annual All-America team since the 1944 season, making it the second longest continuously selected team in major college football.

Current and former Raiders named to the FWAA 75th Anniversary All-America Team:

1st Team2nd Team3rd Team

Charles Woodson

Jerry Rice
Ted Hendricks
Ronnie Lott
Jack Tatum
Ray Guy*

Fred Biletnikoff
Randy Moss
Raghib Ismail

Bo Jackson
Bubba Smith

This article has been reproduced in a new format and may be missing content or contain faulty links. Please use the Contact Us link in our site footer to report an issue.

Related Content