Skip to main content
Raider Nation, Stand Up - View Schedule - Presented by Allegiant

Pro Football Focus Tabs Oakland Raiders As One Of NFL's Most-Improved Teams


Wide receiver Michael Crabtree

While the Oakland Raiders didn't make the postseason last season, they unquestionably made some noise around the league.

With a signature win on the road against the eventual Super Bowl Champion Denver Broncos, and a young nucleus of players highlighted by Derek Carr, Amari Cooper and Khalil Mack, the Silver and Black turned some heads during their 7-9 effort in 2015.

That positive momentum carried into the offseason as the Raiders attracted a quality group of free agents, filling needs in their secondary as well as solidifying the offensive line heading into 2016.

General Manager Reggie McKenzie and the Raider's front office also put together another impressive Draft class, and the additions they've made to the roster haven't been ignored, as Pro Football Focus designated the Silver and Black as the team that Improved The Most In Their Division This Offseason.

"The addition of Kelechi Osemele brings the fifth-best run-blocking guard in the NFL to Oakland, and helps to form arguably the best offensive line in the NFL," wrote PFF. "The Raiders hope the offensive line will serve as a key part in the continued improvement of Derek Carr. While the secondary will no doubt miss the legendary Charles Woodson, the additions of Sean Smith and the instinctive rookie safety Karl Joseph will help ease the loss. By retaining Aldon Smith, signing Bruce Irvin and drafting Shilique Calhoun, the Raiders are hoping to platoon edge rushers in much the same way the Broncos did last season, helping keep superstar edge rusher Khalil Mack fresh.

"If Carr can continue his significant improvement from his rookie season (when he ranked second-to-last in QB grades at No. 38) to his 2015 sophomore campaign (when he ranked No. 11), then the Raiders should become division contenders for years to come."

The rest of the teams highlighted by Pro Football Focus are as follows:

AFC East – Miami Dolphins

NFC East – Philadelphia Eagles

AFC North – Cleveland Browns

NFC North – Chicago Bears

AFC South – Jacksonville Jaguars

NFC South – Tampa Bay Buccaneers

NFC West – Los Angeles Rams

This article has been reproduced in a new format and may be missing content or contain faulty links. Please use the Contact Us link in our site footer to report an issue.

Related Content

Latest Content