Skip to main content
Raider Nation, Stand Up - View Schedule - Presented by Allegiant

Six teams use franchise tag headed into new league year, Raiders do not

The franchise tag period ended Tuesday afternoon at 1:00 p.m. PT, and while six teams exercised the tag for the 2019 season, the Oakland Raiders were not one of them.

At this time of the year, there are three tags to keep an eye on; the non-exclusive franchise tag, the exclusive franchise tag, and the transition tag, and while all have different subtitles, in essence, they all result in the player being under contract for one year with their current team.

Historically, the Silver and Black have strayed away from the franchise tag – the last time they used it was 2012, and the last time a player actually played under the tag was 2008 – and that trend won't change in 2019.

While Jon Gruden and Mike Mayock elected not to use the tag, six teams did (all six were designated as non-exclusive franchise players).

They are:

Atlanta Falcons – DT Grady Jarrett

Kansas City Chiefs –OLB Dee Ford

Dallas Cowboys – DE DeMarcus Lawrence

Houston Texans – OLB Jadeveon Clowney

Seattle Seahawks – DE Frank Clark

San Francisco 49ers – K Robbie Gould

The start of the league year begins Wednesday, March 13, with free agency officially getting underway at 1:00 p.m. PT that day as well.

Headed into free agency, the Silver and Black have 22 unrestricted free agents, four restricted free agents, and eight exclusive rights free agents.

Latest Content