Skip to main content
Raider Nation, Stand Up - View Schedule - Presented by Allegiant

Ken Stabler a Senior Committee Finalist for Pro Football Hall of Fame


Ken Stabler**, the Raiders all-time leading passer who passed away in July 2015, is a Senior Committee Finalist to be considered for election to the Pro Football Football Hall of Fame as part of the Class of 2016.

Three first-year eligible nominees – Alan Faneca, Brett Favre and Terrell Owens – are among the 15 Modern-Era Finalists who will be considered for election to the Pro Football Hall of Fame when the Hall's Selection Committee meets in San Francisco on the day before Super Bowl 50 to elect the Class of 2016. Joining the first-year eligible nominees are ten other modern-era players and two coaches.

The 15 Modern-Era Finalists were determined by a vote of the Hall's Selection Committee from a list of 108 nominees that earlier was reduced to 25 semifinalists, during the multi-step, year-long selection process.

The 2016 Modern-Era Finalists with their positions, years and teams:

Morten Andersen,*Kicker – 1982-1994 New Orleans Saints, 1995-2000, 2006-07 Atlanta Falcons, 2001 New York Giants, 2002-03 Kansas City Chiefs, 2004 Minnesota Vikings *

Steve Atwater, Safety –* *1989-1998 Denver Broncos, 1999 New York Jets

Don Coryell,* *Coach – 1973-77 St. Louis Cardinals, 1978-1986 San Diego Chargers

Terrell Davis,* *Running Back – 1995-2001 Denver Broncos

Tony Dungy,* *Coach – 1996-2001 Tampa Bay Buccaneers, 2002-08 Indianapolis Colts

Alan Faneca,* *Guard – 1998-2007 Pittsburgh Steelers, 2008-09 New York Jets, 2010 Arizona Cardinals

Brett Favre, Quarterback – 1991 Atlanta Falcons, 1992-2007 Green Bay Packers, 2008 New York Jets, 2009-2010 Minnesota Vikings

Kevin Greene, Linebacker/Defensive End – 1985-1992 Los Angeles Rams, 1993-95 Pittsburgh Steelers, 1996, 1998-99 Carolina Panthers, 1997 San Francisco 49ers

Marvin Harrison,* *Wide Receiver – 1996-2008 Indianapolis Colts

Joe Jacoby,* *Tackle – 1981-1993 Washington Redskins

Edgerrin James, Running Back – 1999-2005 Indianapolis Colts, 2006-08 Arizona Cardinals, 2009 Seattle Seahawks

John Lynch,*Free Safety – *1993-2003 Tampa Bay Buccaneers, 2004-07 Denver Broncos

Terrell Owens, Wide Receiver –* *1996-2003 San Francisco 49ers, 2004-05 Philadelphia Eagles, 2006-08 Dallas Cowboys, 2009 Buffalo Bills, 2010 Cincinnati Bengals

Orlando Pace,* *Tackle – 1997-2008 St. Louis Rams, 2009 Chicago Bears

Kurt Warner,* *Quarterback – 1998-2003 St. Louis Rams, 2004 New York Giants, 2005-09 Arizona Cardinals

The 15 Modern-Era Finalists join three other finalists to comprise 18 finalists under consideration for the Pro Football Hall of Fame's Class of 2016.

Two Senior Finalists were announced in August 2015 by the Seniors Committee that reviews the qualifications of those players whose careers ended more than 25 years ago.

Ken Stabler, Quarterback – 1970-1979 Oakland Raiders, 1980-1981 Houston Oilers, 1982-1984 New Orleans Saints

Dick Stanfel, Guard – 1952-55 Detroit Lions, 1956-58 Washington Redskins

A Contributor Finalist announced in September was selected by the Hall of Fame's Contributor Committee that considers persons who made outstanding contributions to professional football other than players and coaches.  

Edward DeBartolo, Jr.,* *Owner – 1977-2000 San Francisco 49ers To be elected, a finalist must receive a minimum positive vote of 80 percent during annual selection meeting.

This article has been reproduced in a new format and may be missing content or contain faulty links. Please use the Contact Us link in our site footer to report an issue.

Related Content

Latest Content