Skip to main content
Raider Nation, Stand Up - View Schedule - Presented by Allegiant

Raiders Legends Selected to Black College Football Hall of Fame


Hall of Famer and Raiders Legend Willie Brown

Today, the Black College Football Hall of Fameannounced the Class of 2012. Raiders Hall of Famer and current coach, Willie Brown, and the Raiders first-round draft pick in 1968, Eldridge Dickey, were among those chosen as part of the 2012 class. The newest members were selected from a list of 35 finalists who had been determined earlier by the Black College Football Hall of Fame Selection Committee.

The inductees will be honored February 18, 2012 at the Atlanta Marriott Marquis* *during the Priority Payment Systems Third Annual Enshrinement Ceremony.

Black College Football Hall of Fame - Class of 2012

  • Willie Brown(DB, Grambling State University, 1959-1963)
  • Harry Carson(DE, South Carolina State University, 1972-1975)
  • Eldridge Dickey(QB, Tennessee State University, 1964-1967)
  • James "Shack" Harris(QB, Grambling State University, 1965-1968)
  • Claude Humphrey(DE, Tennessee State University, 1964-1967)
  • Steve McNair(QB, Alcorn State University, 1991-1994)
  • Willie "Wonderful Willie" Richardson(WR, Jackson State University, 1959-1962)
  • Johnny Sample(DB/RB, Maryland Eastern Shore, 1954-1958)
  • Rayfield "Big Cat" Wright(OL, Fort Valley State, 1963-1966)
  • Cleve Abbott(Head Coach, Tuskegee, 1923-1954)
  • Jackie Graves(Former NFL Scout, former director of personnel for the Philadelphia Eagles)

The Black College Football Hall of Fame Selection Committee* *is comprised of journalists, historians and former football executives from around the country. The committee includes Ernie Accorsi, Charles Bailey, Gil Brandt, Charles Garcia, Donald Hunt, Mike Hurd, Ty Miller, Roscoe Nance, Charlie Neal and Lloyd Vance.

The Black College Football Hall of Famewas established in October of 2009 to honor the greatest football players and coaches from Historically Black Colleges and Universities (HBCUs). Previous inductees include greats such as Lem Barney, Mel Blount, Buck Buchanan, Willie Davis, "Bullet" Bob Hayes, Deacon Jones, Walter Payton, Eddie G. Robinson, Jerry Rice, Art Shell, Doug Williams and Paul "Tank" Younger. This year, nine players, one coach and one contributor will be inducted into the *Black College Football Hall of Fame. *

This article has been reproduced in a new format and may be missing content or contain faulty links. Please use the Contact Us link in our site footer to report an issue.

Related Content

Latest Content