Skip to main content
Raider Nation, Stand Up - View Schedule - Presented by Allegiant

Nominees for 2019 Don Shula NFL High School Coach of the Year Award Announced

The NFL announced today the high school football coaches nominated by the 32 NFL teams for the Don Shula NFL High School Coach of the Year Award, representing the best at the high school level.

These coaches were recognized by their local NFL club for the prestigious award – named after Pro Football Hall of Famer DON SHULA, the winningest coach in NFL history – for their character, integrity, leadership, dedication to the community, commitment to player health and safety and on-field success.

"There are so many coaches across the country who do such great work with their student athletes and I am truly honored to be selected for this prestigious award," said 2018 Don Shula NFL High School Coach of the Year winner GABE INFANTE upon receiving his award. "I am grateful to the NFL and the committee for my consideration."

All Don Shula Award nominees are invited to attend the 2020 Pro Bowl in Orlando, FL and will be recognized in special ways during the NFL's week-long celebration of football. Throughout the week, coaches will receive VIP access and accommodations at various events such as Pro Bowl practices and the Play Football High School Skills Showdown, a chance to interact and engage with various members of the football community and attend the Pro Bowl. Each coach will also have an opportunity to invite a senior on their roster to participate in the Skills Showdown to represent their high school football community.

Two finalists will each receive $15,000 from the NFL Foundation, $10,000 of which will go to their high school's football program. They will also attend Super Bowl LIV in Miami as special guests of the NFL.

The Don Shula Award winner will be announced during the 2020 Pro Bowl, airing Sunday, Jan. 26 at 3 PM ET on ESPN and ESPN Deportes, and simulcast on ABC and Disney XD – the third time the game will be available on both broadcast and cable networks. The winner will also be recognized and walk the red carpet at NFL Honors, a two-hour primetime awards special to air nationally on Saturday, Feb. 1 on FOX, the night before Super Bowl LIV.

The Don Shula NFL High School Coach of the Year winner is selected by a panel of distinguished individuals:

Pro Football Hall of Fame President DAVID BAKER

Former Dallas Cowboys Personnel Director and contributor GIL BRANDT

​Super Bowl XLIV winner and NFL Legends Youth Advisory Committee Member MARK BRUNELL

Pro Football Hall of Fame coach and current NBC analyst TONY DUNGY

Executive Director of USA Football SCOTT HALLENBECK

3-time Super Bowl Champion (XXXVI, XXXVIII, XXXIX) and NFL Legends Youth Advisory Committee Member WILLIE MCGINEST

2x AP NFL Comeback Player of the Year, current head coach at the Sayre School (Lexington, Kentucky) and NFL Legends Youth Advisory Committee Member CHAD PENNINGTON

Pro Football Hall of Famer, Coach DON SHULA – the winningest coach in NFL history

Below is a full list of the 2019 Don Shula NFL High School Coach of the Year nominees.

Table inside Article
Team Coach High School
Arizona Cardinals Jason Mohns Saguaro High School
Atlanta Falcons Matt Land Dalton High School
Baltimore Ravens Justin Payne Parkville High School
Buffalo Bills Bobby Bates McQuaid Jesuit
Carolina Panthers Jamie Nickles Abbeville High School
Chicago Bears Mike Noll Richmond-Burton High School
Cincinnati Bengals Pat McLaughlin LaSalle High School
Cleveland Browns Steve Trivisonno Mentor High School
Dallas Cowboys George Teague John Paul II High School
Denver Broncos Rob Busmente Sterling High School
Detroit Lions Jim Ahern Lansing Catholic High School
Green Bay Packers Mike Minick DeForest High School
Houston Texans Todd McVey Tompkins High School
Indianapolis Colts Kyle Ralph New Palestine High School
Jacksonville Jaguars Damenyum Springs Fleming Island High School
Kansas City Chiefs William Lowe Lincoln College Prep
Los Angeles Chargers Mil'von James Inglewood High School
Los Angeles Rams Paul Knox George Washington Prep
Miami Dolphins Eddie Frasier Dillard High School
Minnesota Vikings Lambert Brown Wayzata High School
New England Patriots Andrew MacKay Ashland High School
New Orleans Saints Robert Valdez St. James High School
New York Giants Barris Grant Hillside High School
New York Jets Nga Warren Samuel J. Tilden Educational Campus
Philadelphia Eagles Dwayne Savage Camden High School
Pittsburgh Steelers Bill Cherpak Thomas Jefferson High School
Raiders Rich Muraco Liberty High School
San Francisco 49ers Mike Machado Valley Christian High School
Seattle Seahawks Bill Beattie Tumwater High School
Tampa Bay Buccaneers TaVaris Johnson Lake Wales Charter High School
Tennessee Titans Shawn Witten Elizabethton High School
Washington Redskins Joe Jones Ocean Lakes High School

About The NFL Foundation: The National Football League Foundation is a non-profit organization dedicated to improving the lives of those touched by the game of football – from players at all levels to communities across the country.The NFL Foundation represents the 32 NFL clubs and supports the health, safety and wellness of athletes, youth football, and the communities that support our game. For more information on The NFL Foundation, visit:

About Play Football: Play Football is a year-round initiative celebrating youth and high school football. Play Football works to shape the football experience, promote football values and connect football communities. For more information, featured football stories, best practices and resources aimed to create a positive playing experience, please visit Join the conversation on social media using #PlayFootball.

Related Content

Latest Content