Raiders Hold 14th Overall Selection in First Round of 2016 NFL Draft

The Oakland Raiders currently hold the 14th overall selection in the first round of the 2016 NFL Draft, which is set for April 28-30, in Chicago. The Raiders have never selected at this position in their history but have selected several notable players within a few picks of No 14.

  1. CB DJ Hayden – 2013
    1. QB Marc Wilson – 1980
    2. T John Clay – 1987
    3. DT Chester McGlockton – 1992
    4. G Gene Upshaw – 1967
    5. K Sebastian Janikowski – 2000
    6. CB Phillip Buchanon – 2002

By losing to the Kansas City Chiefs in the 2015 regular season finale, the Raiders actually moved up five spots in the Draft.

CBS Sports and's Mel Kiper, Jr.'s updated list of top Draft Prospects include:

RankCBS Sports/


Mel Kiper, Jr.1.Joey Bosa, DE, Ohio StateJoey Bosa, DE, Ohio State2.Laremy Tunsil, OT, Ole MissJaylon Smith, OLB, Notre Dame3.Jalen Ramsey, CB Florida StateJalen Ramsey, CB Florida State4.Jared Goff, QB, CaliforniaDeForest Buckner, DE, Oregon5.Myles Jack, OLB, UCLALaremy Tunsil, OT, Ole Miss6.Laquon Treadwell, WR, Ole MissPaxton Lynch, QB, Memphis7.Ronnie Stanley, OT, Notre DameRonnie Stanley, OT, Notre Dame8.DeForest Buckner, DE, OregonVernon Hargreaves, CB, Florida9.A'Shawn Robinson, DT AlabamaRobert Nkemdiche, DT, Ole Miss10.Mackensie Alexander, CB, ClemsonJared Goff, QB, California

In the past 16 years, the Chicago Bears have held the No. 14 overall pick the most times – four. Of the 16 players selected at No. 14 since 2000, 11 of them have been defensive players – 5 defensive backs, 4 defensive tackles, and 2 defensive ends.

The most prominent players selected No. 14 overall in the last 16 years include cornerback Darrelle Revis in 2007, defensive end Robert Quinn in 2011, safety Earl Thomas in 2010, and tight end Jeremy Shockey in 2002.

2015MiamiDaVonte ParkerWRLouisville
2014ChicagoKyle FullerCBVirginia Tech
2013CarolinaStar LoutuleleiDTUtah
2012St. LouisMichael BrockersDTLSU
2011St. LouisRobert QuinnDENorth Carolina
2010SeattleEarl ThomasFSTexas
2009New OrleansMalcolm JenkinsDBOhio State
2008ChicagoChris WilliamsTVanderbilt
2007NY JetsDarrelle RevisCBPittsburgh
2006PhiladelphiaBroderick BunkleyDTFlorida State
2005CarolinaThomas DavisDBGeorgia
2004ChicagoTommie HarrisDTOklahoma
2003ChicagoMichael HaynesDEPenn State
2002NY GiantsJeremy ShockeyTEMiami (Fla.)
2001Tampa BayKenyatta WalkerTFlorida
2000Green BayBubba FranksTEMiami (Fla.)

Other notable No. 14 overall picks include Eddie George to the Tennessee Titans in 1996, Ruben Brown to the Buffalo Bills in 1995, Jim Kelly to the Bills in 1983, and Randy Gradishar to the Denver Broncos in 1974.

This article has been reproduced in a new format and may be missing content or contain faulty links. Please use the Contact Us link in our site footer to report an issue.

Related Content